PDA

View Full Version : Introducing....me...ask a racing guy...

burbanite
06-09-2009, 09:02 PM
Absolute Noob to this forum and site, not so on some others that shall, for now, remain nameless.

What do you want to know? Check my profile first and then we'll go from there. I'll start with one tid bit; I work in Motor Racing, been involved in everything from powerboats to F1.

I'll contribute when and if I feel I have something of value to add, beyond that I'll take a back seat and see what happens.

Mel
06-09-2009, 09:48 PM
Welcome to the site Burbanite. I'll watch anything from the cup races to ditch racing the aussies do with power boats. Good to have you on board, enjoy your stay at AC.

burbanite
06-09-2009, 10:07 PM
Thanks Mel. I had a little to do with Cup cars a few years ago. The "ditch" racing actually originated in New Zealand, I was around when it first started up and we raced whatever we had at the time. Now the boats are purpose built and, (in NZ at least), the power to weight ratio is off the charts.

This is a shot from 1991, I was back home visiting and had an opportunity to run in this boat at a local Jet Sprint. Aluminum Donovan engine, injected on Methanol.

http://www.hotboatpics.com/pics/data/500/6Jetsprint1.jpg

Mel
06-09-2009, 10:20 PM
I stand corrected, New Zealand is where it originated. Looks like you have to have cat like reflexes to drive one of those water rockets.

Stark
06-10-2009, 02:17 AM
Welcome to AC mate - don't hessitate to shoot me a pm should you need any help - in the mean time enjoy the page :)

burbanite
06-10-2009, 07:12 AM
Welcome to AC mate - don't hessitate to shoot me a pm should you need any help - in the mean time enjoy the page :)

Will do and thanks for the site and forum.

Scott
06-10-2009, 10:34 AM
welcome to the website man, hope you enjoy your stay buddy :)

burbanite
06-10-2009, 12:30 PM
welcome to the website man, hope you enjoy your stay buddy :)