PDA

View Full Version : DuraCoat

ErisKillton
01-18-2012, 09:35 AM
Im going to attempt to use DuraCoat to finish one of my guns/rifles myself.
Im not sure what weapon Im going to try first but it will probably be my shitty Highpoint 9mm(in case I fuck up). I've been using an airbrush for about 10 years now, but I never have used a resin paint before and I was curious if anyone else has done it themselves and if so give me some tips from your own experience. Or if you've had your weapon DuraCoated Id like to know how it performs. Or how much you paid to have it done; because if Im good at it, Im going to start finishing other peoples weapons.

...so... I would really appreciate any feedback.

Thanks

For more info on DuraCoat visit Lauer Custom Weaponry (http://www.lauerweaponry.com)

SgtJim
01-18-2012, 12:33 PM
LOL!
we need a video about the full process :D

and i bet u'll use the "zombie coat" version.....hehe

ErisKillton
01-18-2012, 01:38 PM
LOL!
we need a video about the full process :D

and i bet u'll use the "zombie coat" version.....hehe

LoL....

I will keep the video part in mind, and the zombie coat version is waaay cool...but Im sticking to one color for my first time :D

Benda
01-18-2012, 07:15 PM
nothing to add here except good luck Eris.

DevilDog812
01-18-2012, 07:18 PM
might want to check out some of nutnfancy's videos on duracoat Eris! heres a playlist of 6
http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLDE5D2DE6270094AD

good luck on it! i always wanted to try it too

Jdubya
01-19-2012, 12:11 AM
I did a Krylon paint job on one of my ARs using stencils to make digital camo and it worked out no problem. I used blue painters tape to mask areas I didn't want to paint and used a clothes hanger to hang it up by the sling mount on the butt stock. It only took about 2 hours and to be honest it was easier than expected. I'm sure you'll have no problem especially if your using an airbrush.

veritas44
01-19-2012, 01:48 AM