PDA

View Full Version : Question about MEPS

Slow_twitch
02-23-2011, 11:49 AM
Hey Fellas.
I am currently a sophomore in college, have a 3.0 GPA , have wanted to give back to my country for the longest time, and am wanting to do Army ROTC and sign a contract stating that I will go Army no matter what, but have a few concerns. My primary concern is MEPS because I have been to a few psychologists on my own accord for a very brief amount of time (less then 3 months for each, for not very serious reasons) and am currently seeing one now here at school but will be terminating it soon because I simply see no need to continue seeing her. I have also never been clinically diagnosed with or treated with meds for depression,suicide, or any other mental illness. What I want to know is when i go through MEPS, should I just say no or I say yes try and get a psych eval/ waiver? If I say no, what are the chances the military would find out since they will be doing a background check and if so, what would they do with me if they found out? FYI: I have not gone to a recruiter yet because I am simply just doing my homework so when i do make the commitment to do so, everything goes smoothly. Any thoughts suggestions and or experiences that you can share would be much appreciated

Sixx
02-23-2011, 12:22 PM
I recommend keeping it hush hush.....
However, I would like to inform you IF it is documented and the Military can get a hold of it it could bite you in the ass with fradululant enlistment if something should arise and they investigate further.

I'm not sure about your situation, but I'd say since you have never been diagnosed nor treated for any clinical illness you should be ok to let them know about it.

Slow_twitch
02-23-2011, 06:03 PM
I recommend keeping it hush hush.....
However, I would like to inform you IF it is documented and the Military can get a hold of it it could bite you in the ass with fradululant enlistment if something should arise and they investigate further.