PDA

View Full Version : USMC Reserves or ARMY ROTC

Slow_twitch
11-13-2010, 04:17 PM
Hey Fellas,
I am a freshman in school, 20 years old and debating if I should join either ARMY ROTC or the USMC Reserves and do MECEP, rather then PLC or OCS. I don't really know much about either one and will be meeting with a recruiters for both the Army and USMC to discuss options hopefully sometime before Christmas break All thoughts, opinions, information, and personal experiences that you might have would be most helpful and appreciated!

Thanks,

Slow twitch

DefensorFortis
11-13-2010, 04:35 PM
Well I'm not exactly an expert on ROTC, but I do know that you can do ROTC for the first two years of college and you won't have an obligation to enter the Army. That way you can decide if it's really what you want to do, then you can go ahead and either drop it or keep going and take up the obligation.

If you go the route of Marine Reserves, then you are making an 8 year service obligation. So when you "sign" your name on the "dotted line" then you make that commitment and once you're in and you decide it's not for you, than oh well, your on contract and have to carry out the obligation. But talk it over with your Army and Marine Corps recruiters to see what they have to say/offer. Whatever decision you make, make sure it's the one you really want.

Slow_twitch
11-22-2010, 11:13 PM
Thanks man for replying, I will definatly keep what you said in mind when I go and talk to the recruiters. Will post back when I have an update

Jdubya
11-23-2010, 02:10 AM